The Library Databases are subscribed to on an annual basis by SJR State and the State of Florida for use by current students, faculty, and staff. The databases provide full-text articles from magazines and journals and may also include images, reference book entries, pamphlets, eBooks, and citations to articles which you may request from other libraries via ILL. You must be logged in to MySJRstate to access the databases. A link to the databases page is on the Library page in MySJRstate.
There are 121 databases available. Where should you start? Click the category called General Research (Multi-Disciplinary). Then click Academic Search Complete. For most research papers, Academic Search Complete is an excellent choice. Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary resource that usually has something about most topics.
But there are many other resources that will be useful to you. On the database page, you will see a list of subject categories. Click a category to view the full list of databases that are useful for that subject.
To view the full list of SJR State databases click "Alphabetical" to view the database list in alphabetical order.
When you look at the list of available databases, you will see a word in parenthesis next to each database's name. That is the name of the resource's publisher.
GENERAL TIPS FOR SEARCHING DATABASES
No matter what database you choose, use carefully selected keywords to search with.
If you are given the option to limit the search to Full Text (there's usually a check box next to the phrase), always select that option. That way the resource will only show you articles you can read immediately.
If the complete article does not appear below the citation when you click the title from the results list, you may need to do one more step. Look for a link to either the HTML full text or the PDF. The PDF is a scanned image of the article and requires the free Adobe Acrobat reader to view. The PDF will have the same page numbers as the print version which makes citing it much easier.
If you searched without limiting to Full Text, sometimes the HTML of PDF option won't be available. When that happens, click the Full Text Finder link. If the full article is available in one of our other databases, this link will connect you to the resource. If the article isn't available in another database, you may request it via ILL.
If you need help with a specific database, note the publisher of the resource and find the tutorial below. For some, like EBSCO, the interface is the same for all of the databases they publish. Others, like Gale, have unique interfaces for each product.
If you have questions, please do not hesitate to contact your campus Public Services Librarian.