This short video from Vanderbilt University illustrates how to recognize a scholarly article and how to find them in the libraries.
Below is our collection of Nursing journals in print. Click on the cover image for campus location. Students can read these titles in the Library only. Periodicals may be checked out to faculty. **Please note that some of these titles may also have full-text availability via OVID's Full-text Journal Collection database.**
The Online Journals listed below are subscribed to on an annual basis by the SJR State Library for use by current students, faculty, and staff. You will find these titles in the Library Databases listing among many other databases that will provide full-text access to articles from magazines and journals. You must be logged in to MySJRstate to access these Online Journals via the database page. A link to the databases page is on the Library page in MySJRstate.
"Nursing Outlook, a bi-monthly journal, provides innovative ideas for nursing leaders through peer-reviewed articles and timely reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education and research, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession. Nursing Outlook is the official journal of the American Academy of Nursing and supports it mission to serve the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge."
"Simulation in Healthcare: The Journal of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare is a new, multidisciplinary publication encompassing all areas of applications and research in healthcare simulation technology. The journal is relevant to a broad range of clinical and biomedical specialties, and will publish original basic, clinical, and translational research on these topics and more: Safety-and quality-oriented training programs, Development of educational and competency assessment standards, Reports of experience in the use of simulation technology Virtual reality, Epidemiologic modeling Molecular, pharmacologic, and disease modeling."
"Teaching and Learning in Nursing is the Official Journal of the National Organization of Associate Degree Nursing. The journal is dedicated to the advancement of Associate Degree Nursing education and practice, and promotes collaboration in charting the future of health care education and delivery."
"Research and Theory for Nursing Practice is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that focuses on issues relevant to improving nursing practice, education, and patient care. The articles strive to discuss knowledge development in its broadest sense, reflect research using a variety of methodological approaches, and combine several methods and strategies in a single study."
"Prehospital Emergency Care publishes peer-reviewed information relevant to the practice, educational advancement, and investigation of prehospital emergency care, including the following types of articles: Special Contributions - Original Articles - Education and Practice - Preliminary Reports - Case Conferences - Position Papers - Collective Reviews - Editorials - Letters to the Editor - Media Reviews."