June is Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month which, as defined by the Law Library of Congress, "commemorates the events of June 1969 and works to achieve equal justice and equal opportunity for LGBT Americans." June was established as Pride Month in 1994, hence the title and description refers only to people who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender. Today, the more inclusive abbreviation LGBTQ+ is used to refer to the community Pride celebrates.
For legislation, Presidential Proclamations, and Executive Orders pertaining to this commemoration, visit the Law Library of Congress' Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month page.
GLBT Historical Society "Founded in 1985, the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender (GLBT) Historical Society is recognized internationally as a leader in the field of LGBTQ public history. ...The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity."
OutHistory.org "OutHistory.org tells stories about people in the past who identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender; and people who did not conform to dominant norms of sexuality and gender. OutHistory.org uncovers histories of same-gender love and of gender crossing in the recent and distant past, and it tells stories about how people came to experience themselves as heterosexual, homosexual or bisexual through the historical construction of the heterosexual/homosexual binary."
Invisible Histories Project "The Invisible Histories Project is designed to be a repository for the preservation of the history of LGBTQ life first in the state of Alabama and then the entire Southeast. The archive will preserve, collect, and protect the living history of the diversity of the Queer community–both urban and rural. Using the Alabama site as a model, IHP is currently expanding into Mississippi and Georgia with aims to reach the entirety of the Southeast within 10 years."
LGBTQ Oral History Digital Collaboratory Hub A linked list of current & completed oral history projects with a focus on the United States and Canada.
Digital Transgender Archive "The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.Online Resources"
LGBTQ Religious Archives Network "The LGBTQ Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) religious movements around the world. LGBTQ-RAN has a two-fold basic purpose. First it assists LGBT religious leaders and groups in determining how best to preserve their records and papers in appropriate repositories. Secondly, LGBTQ-RAN provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBT religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons."
Bay Area Reporter Archives "The Bay Area Reporter is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer weekly newspaper in the United States and is the highest circulation publication serving the LGBTQ communities of the San Francisco Bay Area."
The lavender scare: How the federal government purged gay employees From CBS Sunday Morning. The book referenced in this article, "The Lavender Scare: The Cold War Persecution of Gays and Lesbians in the Federal Government" by David K. Johnson, is available at the SJR State Library.
LGBTQ at NYPL "Connecting you with the LGBTQ collections, programs, and expertise that The New York Public Library has to offer." Links to the NYPL's digital collection.
June 2020 marks the 50th anniversary of annual LGBTQ+ Pride traditions in the United States. The first Pride march was held in New York on June 28, 1970, on the first anniversary of the Stonewall uprising. More information about the start of the Pride marches in the U.S. is available from the Library of Congress, including this short 1970 documentary by Lilli Vincenz about the Christopher Street Liberation Day Parade.
"Several groups behind the world’s largest pride celebrations are throwing their organizational weight behind plans for a 24-hour, online “Global Pride” event on June 27 that will take place virtually in cities around the world. The effort is being spearheaded by InterPride, an international cohort of pride organizers." - Tim Fitzsimons
Mental Floss compiled a list of online Pride celebrations - take a look: Pride Festivals Are Going Virtual This Year—Here Are 10 Events to Check Out
The Learning Resources Department joins the American Library Association in its dedication "to support the creation of a more equitable, diverse and inclusive society" and endorses ALA's related statements. The Learning Resources Department also supports the Florida Library Association’s Statement on Racial Justice. The Learning Resources Department's events & observances provide resources and opportunities to explore cultures throughout America and around the world.
Go to the Library's homepage
Go to the Academic Support Center's homepage